Galaxy National Book Awards Announced

A star-studded ceremony at the Mandarin Oriental in London last night saw the winners of the Galaxy National Book Awards crowned.  Celebrating the best in British books and writing, the list of winners contains something for every reader and has some great ideas for Christmas presents.  The winners are: Audiobook of the year
My Dear I Wanted To Tell You by Louisa Young

Specsavers Popular Fiction Book of the Year
A Tiny Bit Marvellous by Dawn French

Crime & Thriller of the Year
Before I Go To Sleep by S J Watson

More4 popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year
How To Be A Woman by Caitlin Moran

Galaxy New Writer of the Year 
When God Was A Rabbit by Sarah Winman

National Book Tokens Children’s Book of the Year
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Food & Drink Book of the Year
The Good Cook by Simon Hopkinson

The Telegraph Biography of the Year
Charles Dickens by Claire Tomalin

International Author of the Year
A Visit From the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

Waterstone’s UK Author of the Year 
The Stranger’s Child by Alan Hollinghurst

WHSmith Paperback of the Year
Room by Emma Donoghue

Outstanding Achievement Award
Jackie Collins

Congratulations to all of the winners and good luck in the next round of the competition – voting is now open for the Galaxy Book Of The Year which sees all category winners up against each other in a public poll.  Voting will close on 20th December and the overall winner will be announced soon after.  Make sure that you have your say.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.

Speak Your Mind